Home ImprovementsSeasonal maintenance

Furnace Maintenance Cost: 9 of 20 GTA Companies Post It

Nine of 20 GTA heating companies publish a furnace tune-up price, from $90 to $179. Here is every price, every plan, and the warranty clause behind them.

Facts last verified

More about Toronto →
A person in a cream sweater and jeans sliding a white pleated filter into the filter slot of a white sheet-metal furnace cabinet

Key takeaways

  • Nine of the 20 GTA heating companies we checked publish a price for a one-time furnace tune-up. Taking the cheapest visit each advertises, they run $90 to $179, and the middle of that set is $121.68.
  • Seven companies publish only a plan price, and four publish no price for their own work at all.
  • A $9.99 a month heating plan runs 9.99 x 12 = $119.88 over its 12 month term. Reliance charges $119.00 for a single 12-point tune-up, so a year on its plan costs 88 cents more than one visit.
  • Ten of the 20 publish a checklist size, from eight checks to 27 points, for what is sold as the same annual visit.
  • Ontario's gas regulation sets no service interval for a house. The once-a-year rule comes from the manufacturers: Lennox writes that failure to maintain the equipment will void its limited warranty.

Nine of the 20 GTA heating companies we checked publish a price for a one-time furnace tune-up. Taking each one's cheapest visit, those nine prices run from $90 to $179, and the middle of the set is $121.68. Seven more publish only a plan price, and four publish no price for their own work at all. The gap matters, because a year on a $9.99 a month plan works out to $119.88, and Reliance sells a single tune-up for $119.00. Below is what each company publishes, what a plan actually buys, and why your furnace warranty rather than Ontario law is what puts a service call on your calendar.

What a furnace tune-up costs in the GTA

We checked 20 HVAC companies serving the GTA on September 7, 2026. Between them they cover Toronto, Mississauga, Brampton, Vaughan, Markham, Richmond Hill, Oakville, Pickering and Ajax. For each one we read its own furnace maintenance page, and its plan, pricing, specials or coupon page where it has one. A company counts as publishing a price only when a dollar figure sits on its own website. Nine of the 20 clear that bar.

One-time furnace tune-up prices at 9 GTA companies
ItemLowHighUnit
AirPoint, one-time maintenance visit, starting at$90$90one visit, plus HST
Airtronic, furnace inspection, 21 points$99$99one visit, coupon offer, tax not stated
Reliance Home Comfort, 12-point tune-up$119$119one visit, plus applicable taxes
City Home Comfort, cleaning and tune-up$121.68$121.68one visit, tax not stated
Megacity HVAC, single 20-point tune-up, printed as a range$120$180one visit, tax not stated
EcoFrost, 12-point tune-up with filter, starting at$149$149one visit, tax not stated
Climate Experts, Home Check Up Special: a furnace or A/C tune-up without a maintenance plan$150$150one visit, offer, cost applied toward recommended repairs, tax not stated
GTA ClimateCare, maintenance tune-up, starting at$160$160one visit, covers furnace, AC, boiler or heat pump, plus HST
Furnace King, maintenance visit bought on its own$179$179one visit, plus HST
Reliance Home Comfort, 21-point tune-up$189$189one visit, plus applicable taxes

Nine companies, ten rows: Reliance sells two tiers, and Megacity prints a range. Take one price per company, the cheapest visit each advertises that covers a furnace. For Megacity that is the $120 low end of its range. The set is $90, $99, $119.00, $120, $121.68, $149, $150, $160 and $179. With nine prices, the middle one is the fifth: $121.68.

Three of the nine are floors rather than flat prices. AirPoint says its visits start at $90, EcoFrost that its tune-up starts at $149, and GTA ClimateCare that its tune-up starts at $160. Two are offers rather than standing rates. Airtronic's $99 sits on a page headed "SPECIAL OFFER COUPONS". Climate Experts' "$150 Home Check Up Special" covers a furnace or A/C tune-up, and the fine print on its offer image reads "without a Maintenance Plan". The page adds "Cost applied toward any recommended repairs". Megacity gives a range, so only Reliance, City Home Comfort and Furnace King print a figure that reads as the price.

Four of the nine say tax is extra. AirPoint prints "$90 (+HST)", Reliance footnotes "Plus applicable taxes", GTA ClimateCare prints "+ HST", and Furnace King says "Prices displayed do not include HST". Airtronic, City Home Comfort, Megacity, EcoFrost and Climate Experts give a bare number and say nothing, so the figure on the screen may not be the figure on the invoice. Ask before you book.

Eleven of the 20 will not price a single visit

Seven companies price a maintenance plan but never price a single visit. Enercare, Advantage Airtech ClimateCare, Spring Home, Maple Air, Dr HVAC, Tempasure and Laird and Son all fall in that group. If you only want one visit this autumn, none of them will tell you what it costs without a phone call.

Four more publish no maintenance price of any kind. Cozy Comfort Plus, Cozy World, AtlasCare and Belyea Brothers describe the work and ask you to request a quote. We looked past the service page in each case. Cozy World prices a repair call at $99 but not a tune-up. AtlasCare's promotions page prices drains and equipment, not maintenance. Belyea Brothers publishes a service plan agreement whose price line is left blank for the customer.

Four of the nine put the number somewhere other than the obvious page. AirPoint's price is on its Toronto furnace maintenance page, not in the cost guide that ranks for the search. GTA ClimateCare's is on ai.gtaclimatecare.com, a machine-readable pricing subdomain it links from every page of its main site; the WeCARE plan page itself carries no figure. Climate Experts' sits on its offers page, not its maintenance page, and Airtronic's $99 visit is on its coupons page.

What a plan really costs once you multiply it out

Fourteen of the 20 publish a plan price. Thirteen are in the table below, and Airtronic's follows it.

Published maintenance plan prices at 13 GTA companies
ItemLowHighUnit
Enercare Heating Maintenance Plan, furnace$9.99$9.99per month for 12 months, plus HST
Reliance Heating Maintenance Plan$9.99$9.9912-month term, plus applicable taxes
Advantage Airtech WeCare Maintenance$9.99$9.99per month, after a one-time joining tune-up fee
GTA ClimateCare WeCARE Maintenance Plan$9.99$9.99per month, starting at, plus HST
Furnace King furnace maintenance plan$10.99$10.99per month, HST extra
Spring Home protection package$11.70$11.70per month, lowest advertised
Maple Air Heating Maintenance Plan$11.99$11.99per month, one heating unit
Dr HVAC Service Club plan$15.99$15.99per month, furnace and AC and plumbing
Tempasure Diamond Heating plan$17.50$17.50per month, heating only
AirPoint AirProtect plan$23.99$23.99per month, repairs covered, after the sign-up visit
Climate Experts 365 Maintenance Package$29.95$29.95per month plus HST, furnace and AC, two visits
Laird and Son membership plan$215$215as printed, lowest advertised, plus HST, no period stated
EcoFrost Annual Comfort Plan$229$229per year, furnace and AC

Monthly pricing hides the yearly number, so do the multiplication. Enercare's Heating Maintenance Plan for furnaces is $9.99 a month plus HST and runs for 12 months. That is 9.99 x 12 = $119.88 before tax, for one annual 22-point inspection. Advantage Airtech charges the same $9.99 a month and prints the yearly figure on its own page as $119.88, so the arithmetic is the industry's, not ours. Its plan also carries a one-time initial precision tune-up fee of $59.99 to join, so a first year there is 59.99 + 119.88 = $179.87.

Airtronic prints its Heating Maintenance Plan at $14.99 a month for an annual visit with an up to 21-point inspection. That is 14.99 x 12 = $179.88 a year, and the page states no tax or term.

Reliance is the one to read closely. It prints "$9.99" with "(12-month term)" beside it and no period on the figure itself. Its own product page settles the question: bundling this plan with the protection plan saves "$2.99/month compared to purchasing them separately", which only works if the $9.99 is monthly. Twelve of those is the same $119.88, against $119.00 for the 12-point tune-up Reliance sells outright. A year on the plan costs 88 cents more than one visit from the same company.

Seven companies publish both a plan and a single-visit price, and on the printed figures five of those seven plans cost more in the first year. Furnace King charges $179 plus HST for a visit off plan. Join the monthly plan and that visit is $99 today, then $10.99 a month, so year one is 99 + 131.88 = $230.88 before HST, because 10.99 x 12 = $131.88. From year two the monthly fee alone is $131.88, which is less than $179.

AirPoint is the widest gap, though it is not a like-for-like swap. A visit is $90 plus HST, while its AirProtect plan charges $149 for the maintenance on sign-up and then $23.99 a month to cover repairs as well. Year one is 149 + 287.88 = $436.88, because 23.99 x 12 = $287.88. You are buying repair cover, not a cheaper tune-up.

Airtronic's plan year, $179.88, tops its $99 coupon. Climate Experts' plan tops its $150 check-up at either yearly figure its page prints, though it buys two visits.

The two plans that win do so on floors, not flat prices. EcoFrost's Annual Comfort Plan is $229 for a furnace and an air conditioner tune-up, against 149 x 2 = $298 if you bought both separately. The $149 is a "starting at" price. The $229 is printed under "Flat-rate pricing" with no floor language, so only one side of that comparison can move. GTA ClimateCare's plan starts at $9.99 a month, or $119.88 a year, against a tune-up starting at $160.

One page in the set disagrees with itself. Climate Experts advertises its bi-annual furnace and air conditioner agreement at $29.95 plus HST a month, which is 29.95 x 12 = $359.40 a year, and on the same page invites you to join "FROM $239.00 PER YEAR". Ask which one applies to you before you sign.

Tempasure puts a number on what it thinks a single visit is worth. Its page prices two maintenance visits a year at a "current value $249/each" and sells the combined plan at $26.25 a month, which its own page totals as $315 plus HST. That $249 is well above every published one-visit price in this study.

A monthly plan is a 12 month commitment

Enercare and Reliance both attach a 12 month term to their maintenance plans. Work out the yearly cost before you sign, and compare it against one tune-up, not against a repair bill you have not had yet.

A 27-point tune-up is not bigger than a 12-point one

Ten of the 20 companies publish a checklist size. They do not describe the same job in the same way, and the counts are not comparable.

Checklist size published for the same annual furnace visit, 10 GTA companies
CompanyChecklist size the company publishesPage it appears on
Maple AirEight diagnostic checks, per the headinghttps://www.mapleair.com/protection-maintanance.php
EcoFrost Heating and Cooling12 pointshttps://www.ecofrostheating.ca/maintenance
Reliance Home Comfort12 points, or 21 on the larger tierhttps://reliancehomecomfort.com/tune-up/
Cozy Comfort Plus17 pointshttps://cozycomfortplus.com/services/furnace-tune-up/
Megacity HVAC20 pointshttps://megacityhvac.com/services/hvac-maintenance
Airtronic21 pointshttps://airtronic.ca/hvac-coupons/
Enercare22 pointshttps://www.enercare.ca/ontario/heating/heating-maintenance-plan
Advantage Airtech ClimateCare26 pointshttps://www.advantageairtech.com/hvac-maintenance-plans
GTA ClimateCare26 pointshttps://www.gtaclimatecare.com/wecare-maintenance-and-protection-plans
Dr HVAC27 pointshttps://www.drhvac.ca/furnace-maintenance/

Two of those numbers need a footnote. Maple Air's eight is the claim in its heading, and the list that renders beneath the heating plan is the cooling one, so nobody can check the eight. Cozy Comfort Plus explains what a point count really means: "Each check applies only when the installed system includes that component", and "A routine tune-up does not confirm the condition of concealed ductwork or inaccessible internal parts". A 27-point list can shrink on a simple furnace, and a 12-point list can cover everything yours has.

Ask what the visit measures rather than how many boxes it ticks. Enercare says it checks the whole heating system for "problems with energy efficiency, carbon monoxide leaks, air quality, or worn-out and faulty materials". Climate Experts lists a burner assembly clean and a gas pressure inspection in its fall heating visit. Reliance describes its 12-point service as an inspection of 12 major components and its 21-point service as testing and cleaning. EcoFrost promises a written report and Enercare a HomeCare Report.

Ontario does not set an interval. Your warranty does

Ontario's rule for gas appliances is O. Reg. 212/01, Gaseous Fuels, made under the Technical Standards and Safety Act, 2000. Section 15 says an owner or user of a gas appliance shall ensure it "is maintained in a safe operating condition". That is a real duty and it applies to your house.

What the regulation does not do is name a frequency for you. We searched the whole consolidated text, which is current from May 15, 2015, for "annual", "once a year", "12 months", "each year" and "yearly". There are zero matches. Two sections do set a 10-year interval, and neither binds a homeowner. Section 16 requires the gas distributor to have inspected the appliance within the previous 10 years. Section 17 puts an evaluation and inspection duty on the owner of an industrial, institutional or assembly building.

The annual habit comes from the equipment makers. Lennox opens its limited warranty, which applies in Canada, with the line "Failure to maintain equipment will void this limited warranty". The same document adds that proof of prior maintenance may be required when you claim. Rheem's gas furnace warranty excludes any failure caused by a "failure to properly install, operate or maintain Covered Equipment in accordance with the Manufacturer's instructions".

Carrier states the condition and then supplies the interval. Its warranty for a non-condensing gas furnace requires that "Installation, use, care, and maintenance must be normal and in accordance with instructions contained in the Installation Instructions, Owner's Manual and Company's service information". Carrier's own furnace manual then says "A qualified service person should inspect the furnace once a year", and asks for the burner compartment and the vent system to be inspected "before each heating season". Under the Canadian gas code, CAN/CSA B149, that manual notes the vent system should be checked once a year by qualified service personnel.

So keep the invoices. The warranty asks for proof of maintenance, and a dated receipt is the proof.

How to buy one without overpaying

Get the price in writing before the technician arrives, and ask whether it includes tax. Four of the nine companies say tax is extra and five are silent, so the question is not rude. Ask too whether the number is a floor: three of the nine are "starting at" prices, one is a range and two are offers.

Ask what happens if the visit finds a fault. Every company here sells the tune-up and the repair separately, and a GTA furnace repair is not small. AirPoint's cost guide puts a blower motor at $400 to $1,200 and a heat exchanger at $1,000 to $2,500, at which point it says replacing the furnace is often the better call.

Book before the cold arrives, because Carrier's manual asks for the check before each heating season. Then do the plan maths yourself. Multiply the monthly figure by 12, add any joining fee, and compare that with one visit at the published price from the same company.

Frequently asked questions

How frequently should a furnace be serviced?

Once a year, before the heating season. Ontario's gas regulation, O. Reg. 212/01, sets no interval for a house at all. The interval comes from the manufacturer: Carrier's own furnace manual says "A qualified service person should inspect the furnace once a year", and the Canadian gas code CAN/CSA B149 asks for a yearly vent check.

How much does a full furnace service cost?

Between $90 and $179 at the nine GTA companies that publish a price, taking each one's cheapest visit, with $121.68 in the middle. AirPoint's visits start at $90 plus HST and Furnace King charges $179 plus HST for a visit bought on its own. Reliance sells a longer 21-point service at $189.00 plus applicable taxes.

What is the yearly furnace maintenance cost in Ontario?

If you buy one visit a year, $90 to $179 across our GTA set. If you buy a plan instead, multiply it out: Enercare charges $9.99 a month for 12 months, and Reliance $9.99 on a 12 month term, which is 9.99 x 12 = $119.88 either way. Laird and Son prices its membership from $215 plus HST, and does not say on the page what period that buys.

What is the most expensive part to fix on a furnace?

The heat exchanger. AirPoint's GTA cost guide puts a heat exchanger replacement at $1,000 to $2,500 and notes that at that price, replacing the furnace is often recommended instead. A blower motor is next at $400 to $1,200, then a control board at $450 to $900. That same guide quotes three different tune-up ranges in one page, so use it for repairs rather than for maintenance.

Is a furnace maintenance plan worth it?

Do the arithmetic first. A year of Reliance's $9.99 a month plan is $119.88, which is 88 cents more than the $119.00 it charges for one 12-point tune-up. Seven companies publish both a plan and a single price, and five of the seven plans cost more in year one. EcoFrost's is the clearest win: $229 covers a furnace and an air conditioner tune-up, against 149 x 2 = $298 bought separately.

Does a furnace tune-up include the filter?

Sometimes, and the pages say so when it does. EcoFrost lists filter replacement inside its $149 tune-up. City Home Comfort says it will replace the filter you provide, or sell you one. Climate Experts includes a filter replacement in its fall heating visit if one is needed. The rest of the set does not say either way, so ask.

Will skipping a tune-up void my furnace warranty?

It can. Lennox states plainly that "Failure to maintain equipment will void this limited warranty", and says proof of prior maintenance may be required. Rheem's gas furnace warranty excludes failures caused by not maintaining the equipment to its instructions. Carrier ties cover to following the owner's manual, and that manual asks for a yearly inspection.

Sources (36)

  1. O. Reg. 212/01: Gaseous Fuels, under the Technical Standards and Safety Act, 2000 · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  2. Lennox Quality Care Program Equipment Limited Warranty · Lennox Industries (retrieved )
  3. Limited Warranty for Non-Condensing Gas Furnace · Carrier Corporation (retrieved )
  4. 59SC2B Installation, Start-up, Operating and Service and Maintenance Instructions · Carrier Corporation (retrieved )
  5. Limited Warranty, Gas Furnaces RGFG, RGGE, RGJF and others · Rheem Manufacturing Company (retrieved )
  6. Furnace Maintenance Toronto · AirPoint Heating and Cooling (retrieved )
  7. HVAC Services and Pricing · GTA ClimateCare (retrieved )
  8. HVAC Coupons · Airtronic Heating and Cooling (retrieved )
  9. Maintenance Plans · Airtronic Heating and Cooling (retrieved )
  10. Furnace and AC Tune-Ups · Reliance Home Comfort (retrieved )
  11. Furnace, AC and Plumbing Maintenance and Protection Plans · Reliance Home Comfort (retrieved )
  12. Heating Maintenance Plan · Reliance Home Comfort (retrieved )
  13. Gas Furnace Maintenance Service, Cleaning and Tune-Up · City Home Comfort (retrieved )
  14. HVAC Maintenance · Megacity HVAC (retrieved )
  15. Furnace Maintenance and Tune-Up Services · EcoFrost Heating and Cooling (retrieved )
  16. HVAC Service Plans and Protection · Furnace King (retrieved )
  17. HVAC Maintenance in Mississauga and the GTA · Furnace King (retrieved )
  18. Furnace and Boiler Maintenance Plans · Enercare (retrieved )
  19. HVAC Maintenance Plans · Advantage Airtech ClimateCare (retrieved )
  20. Annual Heating Maintenance · Spring Home (retrieved )
  21. Maple Care Plans · Maple Air (retrieved )
  22. Protection and Maintenance Plans · Maple Air (retrieved )
  23. Service Club Maintenance Plan · Dr HVAC (retrieved )
  24. Toronto Furnace Maintenance · Dr HVAC (retrieved )
  25. Heating and Cooling Maintenance Plans · Tempasure (retrieved )
  26. Preventative Maintenance · Climate Experts (retrieved )
  27. Current Offers · Climate Experts (retrieved )
  28. Furnace Maintenance · Laird and Son Heating and Air Conditioning (retrieved )
  29. Furnace Service Cost in Toronto · AirPoint Heating and Cooling (retrieved )
  30. Furnace Tune-Up, 17-Point Service · Cozy Comfort Plus (retrieved )
  31. Furnace Tune Up, Maintenance and Cleaning in Toronto · Cozy World (retrieved )
  32. Furnace Repair and Furnace Service · Cozy World (retrieved )
  33. WeCARE Maintenance and Protection Plans · GTA ClimateCare (retrieved )
  34. HVAC Maintenance Plans · AtlasCare (retrieved )
  35. Preventative Maintenance Plans · Belyea Brothers (retrieved )
  36. Service Plan Agreement · Belyea Brothers (retrieved )

How this guide was made

On September 7, 2026 we opened the furnace maintenance page of 20 HVAC companies serving the GTA, plus each one's plan, pricing, specials or coupon page where it has one, and recorded whether a dollar figure appears at all. The legal position was read from O. Reg. 212/01 through the e-Laws API, and the annual interval from the warranty and service documents Lennox, Carrier and Rheem publish themselves. Climate Experts' offers page, Airtronic's plans page and Megacity's maintenance page were re-read on September 29, 2026, and every count and the median were re-derived.

David BrownDB

Written by

David Brown

Editor & main author

David Brown is the editor of GTA Guide. He writes about the practical side of living in the Greater Toronto Area: what things cost, who to call, and what is worth your weekend. More about David Brown

Also worth reading

More in Seasonal maintenance

All Seasonal maintenance →