Home ImprovementsHiring a pro

Home Inspection Cost in Ontario. Nobody Licenses Your Inspector

Seven GTA firms' published prices, the exclusions written into the standard of practice and the inspection agreement, the specialists you still have to hire, and the licence Ontario has never switched on.

Facts last verified

More about Toronto →
An inspector with a clipboard checking an electrical panel

Key takeaways

  • The Home Inspection Act, 2017 is passed and not in force. The e-Laws consolidation, current to the August 24, 2026 currency date, still says: THIS ACT IS NOT YET IN FORCE. It comes into force on a day to be named by proclamation of the Lieutenant Governor.
  • Seven GTA firms publish a starting price for a house inspection between $199 and $575, and the middle one is $443.
  • Three of those seven print the price before HST and four say nothing about tax, so two quotes are not comparable until you ask which one you are reading.
  • The published standard of practice and the standard inspection agreement between them exclude concealed and latent defects, anything that needs dismantling, mould, radon, asbestos, lead, buried pipes, sewer lines and septic systems.
  • A widely used Canadian inspection agreement caps the inspector's total liability at the amount of the fee paid, and says any claim started more than one year after the inspection is barred.

A home inspection in the GTA starts somewhere between $199 and $575, depending which of seven firms you call. The fee buys a visual check of the parts of the house the inspector can safely reach. It does not buy a look at anything hidden. A standard of practice is the rulebook that says what an inspector must examine and what they may skip. It lets the inspector leave walls closed and the furnace whole. Mould, radon and asbestos all sit outside the job. No provincial licence stands behind the report. Ontario passed the Home Inspection Act, 2017 and, as at the August 24, 2026 consolidation, has never switched it on.

What a home inspection costs in the GTA

Starting price for a house inspection, seven GTA firms
ItemLowHighUnit
ASM Home & Commercial Inspection, residential inspection$199$199from, qualifying scopes, tax not stated
UChoice Home Inspections, detached or semi under 1,500 sq ft$400$400plus HST
Inspection Services Group, standard home inspection$439$439start, up to 2,000 sq ft, tax not stated
Optimum Inspection, single family home$443$443from, plus HST
Trusted Home Inspection Pros, complete home inspection$495$495starting, up to 2,000 sq ft, plus HST
Carson Dunlop, Toronto home inspection$499$499from, tax not stated
Mike Holmes Inspections, essential home inspection$575$749by size and complexity, tax not stated

The seven starting prices are $199, $400, $439, $443, $495, $499 and $575. The middle one is $443, a published price rather than an average across two tax bases. Only one of the seven rows above starts below $400.

Three of the seven print the price before HST. The other four say nothing about tax. Optimum Inspection prints both figures on one line: $443 before tax and $500 with it. The gap is $500 less $443, or $57. Ask which basis a quote uses before comparing two.

What moves the price

Size is the main lever, and firms band it. UChoice Home Inspections charges $400 plus HST for a detached or semi under 1,500 sq ft. Its ladder climbs to $750 plus HST at 5,500 to 6,000 sq ft. Inspection Services Group starts at $439 for a property up to 2,000 sq ft. It says a surcharge may apply for a house over 50 years old, or one with a separate structure on the property. Additional fees may apply for a finished basement or a basement apartment. Optimum says its price can rise for size, age, value or an extra living unit. It says travel premiums may apply outside Metropolitan Toronto. House type moves it too. Optimum starts a bungalow or townhouse at $399 plus HST against $443 for a single family home. UChoice starts a mid-block townhouse under 1,500 sq ft at $360 plus HST against the $400 detached or semi at that size.

Condos cost less because there is less to inspect. UChoice charges $280 plus HST for a condo under 1,000 sq ft. Optimum starts a high-rise condo at $310 plus HST. Inspection Services Group starts at $329 for a condo up to 1,000 sq ft, common elements excluded. Trusted Home Inspection Pros starts a condo at $395 plus HST up to 1,000 sq ft.

Extras are priced on their own. Trusted Home Inspection Pros sells thermal imaging at $150 plus HST. Optimum sells a standalone infrared scan from $266 plus HST. Inspection Services Group prices its Healthy Home package at $509 against $439 for the standard one. The indoor air testing costs $509 less $439, or $70. Mike Holmes Inspections prices its Premium package, which adds radon testing, at $1,000 and up.

What the inspection actually covers

The scope sits in the agreement you sign. One widely used Canadian agreement, built on CAHPI standards, covers the exterior including roof and chimney, the structure, electrical, heating and cooling, insulation and plumbing. It also covers the interior: floors, walls, ceilings and windows. The inspector also runs the major built-in appliances.

The word doing the work is "visual". InterNACHI's standard calls the job "a non-invasive, visual examination of the accessible areas". It looks for defects the inspector both sees and judges material. A material defect is one that could badly hurt the value of the house, or put someone at risk. Old gear near the end of its life does not count on its own.

The same agreement is blunt about what the report is not. "This is not a Building Code inspection, title examination, nor a By-law compliance inspection." The inspector gives no opinion on whether to buy, what the house is worth, or what it can be used for.

What the standards of practice leave out

These exclusions sit in the published standard, in the contract, or in both.

  • Anything hidden. "An inspection will not identify concealed or latent defects." A latent defect is a fault you cannot see, so a leak inside a wall is outside the job.
  • Anything that has to come apart. The inspector need not "dismantle, open or uncover" a system. Judging a furnace heat exchanger properly means taking the furnace apart, and the agreement puts that beyond scope.
  • Anything buried or boxed in. Concealed pipes, sewer lines, septic systems, electrical lines, lawn irrigation and underground tanks are all excluded.
  • Anything in the way. Nobody has to move furniture, carpet, rugs, debris, snow, ice or a pet.
  • Health hazards. The standard does not ask the inspector to find "mold, mildew or fungus", "airborne hazards, including radon", or "lead paint, asbestos or toxic drywall".
  • Pests. Rodents, birds, bats, insects and wood-destroying organisms are out.
  • Code compliance. The inspector need not determine "compliance with codes or regulations".
  • Lifespan and repair costs. Service life expectancy and "correction, replacement or repair cost estimates" are both outside the standard.
  • The air conditioner, in cool weather. The agreement excludes central air conditioning "when outside temperature is below 65° F or 18° C". Buy in November here and nobody runs your AC.
  • Condo common elements. A condo inspection covers your unit. Roof, cladding, hallways, parking and the central heating and cooling equipment are common elements, and the inspection stops at your unit.
  • Two quiet ones. No "assurance of a dry basement or crawl space", and no assurance that double and triple pane window seals are intact.

The jobs that need a different specialist

A septic system. Septic systems sit on the contract's exclusion list, so a separate inspection is the only way to see one. Ontario's guidance says you may have one "if you live in a rural area, a small community or have a cottage". The GTA has all three.

A private well. Public Health Ontario tests private drinking water for E. coli and total coliforms. It also warns: "We do not test for other contaminants such as chemicals." A clean bacteria result is not a clean water result.

A wood stove or fireplace. A WETT inspection, short for Wood Energy Technology Transfer, is a check of a wood-burning appliance by a certified person. WETT Inc. names insurance and real estate deals as two reasons you might need one. Its Level 1 visual inspection is "used for most insurance and real estate needs". Companies cannot be WETT certified, only individuals. Ask for the person, not the logo.

Asbestos, in an older house. Health Canada says that "before 1990, asbestos was mainly used for insulating buildings and homes". If the house is older than that, test before you open walls.

Mould. The agreement excludes fungus, mould and mildew included, unless the inspector is qualified and you ask for it "for an additional fee". Get that price before the day.

A structural question. The agreement says plainly that "no engineering services are offered". If something in the report worries you, a professional engineer is the next call. The Act would draw the same line. It would not apply to a holder of a licence under the Professional Engineers Act.

Radon deserves its own test, not a line in a report. We cover measured GTA radon levels region by region separately.

Ontario does not license home inspectors

Ontario passed the Home Inspection Act, 2017. It has never come into force. The e-Laws consolidation, current to the currency date of August 24, 2026, still opens with a note. "THIS ACT IS NOT YET IN FORCE. It comes into force on a day to be named by proclamation of the Lieutenant Governor." A proclamation is the separate order that turns a passed law on.

What would change is written in the Act. Section 37 (1) says "no person shall perform a home inspection unless the person is licensed as a home inspector". Section 51 would require a written contract first. Section 75 would let the Minister prescribe "the features and components that are to be inspected". It would also set the insurance every licensee must carry. Section 2 would keep architects and professional engineers outside the scheme, subject to the regulations.

None of that binds anyone yet. There is no provincial register and no licence number to ask for. The letters after an inspector's name come from associations. CAHPI's site lists "RHI, Registered Home Inspectors (RHI), National Certificate Holder" among its own trademarks. The Ontario Association of Home Inspectors was "established by the Ontario Association of Home Inspectors Act, 1994". That is a private Act, not a licensing law. These credentials carry real requirements. They are simply not a licence.

How to check an inspector when the province does not

  1. Ask which standard of practice they work to, in writing. CAHPI says its members are "inspecting to either the CAHPI Standards of Practice or CSA A770 Home Inspection Standard". Inspection Services Group names CSA A770 on its price page. A firm that cannot name a standard is describing nothing.
  2. Look the person up in the association's own directory, not on their logo wall.
  3. Ask for proof of errors and omissions insurance. No Ontario law requires it, which is why you ask.
  4. Read the agreement before the day, not on the driveway.
  5. Do not lean on a seller's report. The standard agreement says it is "provided solely for the benefit of the Client".

What the contract says if something is missed

A limitation of liability is a clause that caps what you can recover when the other side gets it wrong. The Canadian agreement is direct. The inspector's total liability "shall be limited to the amount of the fee paid for the Inspection".

There is a clock in the agreement as well. It says a claim must be started "not later than one (1) year from the date of the inspection". After that, it says, the client's right to start proceedings is "barred". That is the contract's own wording, not Ontario's limitation law. The agreement also disclaims the thing buyers fear most. It says the inspector is not liable "for the non-discovery of any patent or latent defects".

None of that is a rule the government wrote. It is a contract term, offered by the inspector and accepted by you at signing. If the terms do not work for you, say so before the inspection, not after the basement floods.

Frequently asked questions

What does a home inspection include in Ontario?

A visual check of the accessible parts of the house: exterior, roof, chimney, structure, electrical, heating and cooling, insulation, plumbing and the interior. The inspector also runs the built-in appliances. Ontario sets no scope by law, so the agreement and the standard named in it define the job.

Do house inspectors check everything?

No, and the standards say so. InterNACHI's standard says an inspection "will not identify concealed or latent defects" and is "not technically exhaustive".

How long does a house inspection take in Ontario?

Optimum Inspection publishes an average of two and a half to three hours. It says the time depends on the condition, age and size of the home.

How much does a home inspection cost in Toronto?

Across seven firms serving the GTA, the published starting prices for a house are $199, $400, $439, $443, $495, $499 and $575. Mike Holmes Inspections publishes $575 to $749 for its essential package. Three of the seven say the price is before HST and four say nothing about tax.

Are home inspectors licensed in Ontario?

No. Section 37 (1) of the Home Inspection Act, 2017 would require a licence. The e-Laws consolidation current to August 24, 2026 still says "THIS ACT IS NOT YET IN FORCE". Letters such as RHI are association marks, and CAHPI lists them among its own trademarks.

Does a condo inspection cover the roof and common areas?

No. Inspection Services Group prices a condo from $329 and says common elements are excluded. Trusted Home Inspection Pros starts a condo at $395 plus HST. It says those common elements typically include the roof, insulation, exterior cladding, common hallways, lobbies, parking areas and structural components.

What happens if a home inspector misses something?

The agreement answers this, not the province. It caps the inspector's total liability at "the amount of the fee paid for the Inspection", and requires any claim to start within one year of the inspection date.

Sources (19)

  1. Home Inspection Act, 2017, S.O. 2017, c. 5, Sched. 1 · King's Printer for Ontario (retrieved )
  2. Home Inspection Act, 2017 (e-Laws consolidation record) · King's Printer for Ontario (retrieved )
  3. e-Laws currency date · King's Printer for Ontario (retrieved )
  4. Home Inspection Standards of Practice · InterNACHI (retrieved )
  5. Inspector Standards · Canadian Association of Home & Property Inspectors (retrieved )
  6. Canadian Association of Home and Property Inspectors · Canadian Association of Home & Property Inspectors (retrieved )
  7. Visual Inspection Agreement (Canada, CAHPI standards) · Pillar To Post Home Inspectors (retrieved )
  8. About the Ontario Association of Home Inspectors · Ontario Association of Home Inspectors (retrieved )
  9. About WETT Inspections · WETT Inc. (retrieved )
  10. Well Water Testing (Private Drinking Water) · Public Health Ontario (retrieved )
  11. Septic systems · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  12. Asbestos and your health · Health Canada (retrieved )
  13. Pricing · ASM Home & Commercial Inspection (retrieved )
  14. Pricing · UChoice Home Inspections (retrieved )
  15. Residential Home Inspection Packages · Inspection Services Group (retrieved )
  16. Rates · Optimum Inspection (retrieved )
  17. Services & Fees · Trusted Home Inspection Pros (retrieved )
  18. Cost of a Home Inspection in Toronto · Mike Holmes Inspections (retrieved )
  19. Home Inspection Toronto · Carson Dunlop (retrieved )

How this guide was made

Checked on August 27, 2026. The Home Inspection Act, 2017 was read from the King's Printer e-Laws consolidation record for statute 17h05 and the e-Laws currency-date endpoint, because the e-Laws page itself will not load without JavaScript. Scope and exclusions came from the InterNACHI Standards of Practice, the CAHPI inspector standards page, an OAHI association document and a published Canadian CAHPI-based inspection agreement. Specialist triggers came from Public Health Ontario, ontario.ca, Health Canada and WETT Inc. Prices came from the published fee pages of seven home inspection firms serving the GTA.

David BrownDB

Written by

David Brown

Editor & main author

David Brown is the editor of GTA Guide. He writes about the practical side of living in the Greater Toronto Area: what things cost, who to call, and what is worth your weekend. More about David Brown

Also worth reading

More in Hiring a pro

All Hiring a pro →

See also