Home ImprovementsWhat it costs in Ontario

Water Softener Cost: Buying Beats Renting in About 7 Years

At list prices, 9 of 10 GTA softener models with a matched published rent and price break even in 6.4 to 7.4 years. Here are the rents, prices, exit rules and salt costs.

Facts last verified

More about Toronto →
Close-up of a water softener's grey control valve, with a small LCD screen and CLOCK, NEXT, up, down and REGEN buttons, on top of a grey resin tank, with a black and yellow hose, a blue fitting, brass valves with red handles and a black filter housing beside it

Key takeaways

  • At list prices, 9 of the 10 GTA softener models with a matched published rent and price break even in 6.4 to 7.4 years; Reliance's $2,500 30K unit equals about 78 months of its $31.99 rent.
  • Only 7 of the 16 GTA softener companies we checked publish a monthly rent for a softener on its own, from $19.95 (Go Lime's sale price) to $47.99 (Reliance), and only 2 say whether tax is included.
  • Enercare's sample rental agreement ends early only by buyout: at 5 to under 6 years old the buyout is 76% of the unit's original installed cost, plus tax.
  • A softener contract signed after an uninvited knock on your door is void under Ontario's Consumer Protection Act, 2002; an invited home contract over $50 can be cancelled within 10 days of receiving the written copy.
  • Toronto's water averaged 119 mg/L in 2025; for a household of three using 230 cubic metres a year, a softener at its rated efficiency needs at least 2 to 4 bags of 20 kg salt, $23.50 to $47.00 a year at $11.75 a bag, and a GTA salt seller says typical use is a bag every 4 to 8 weeks.

At list prices, buying a water softener beats renting it in about 6.4 to 7.4 years for 9 of the 10 GTA models whose seller publishes a matched rent and price. Reliance Home Comfort rents its 30K softener for $31.99 a month and sells the same model for $2,500. That's about 78 months of rent, or 6.5 years. Go Lime is the exception at 9.2 years, and on its plan half of each payment also goes toward owning the unit. Discounts and repairs can push the crossover later. And check your water first: the City of Toronto says softeners are "usually not needed" on its lake water.

What 16 GTA softener companies publish

We read the websites of 16 GTA companies that sell, rent or install whole-house softeners on September 28, 2026. Seven publish a monthly rent for a softener on its own. Six publish a purchase price, and five of those say it includes installation. Four publish both, which is what a break-even needs. Seven publish no standard price for a softener on its own.

What each GTA softener company publishes on its own website
CompanyBased inMonthly rent it publishesPurchase price it publishesHow a rental ends early
EnercareMarkham$30.67 to $35.38 plus HST; "combo rate" $24.38"can cost between $2,414 and $2,920", installation includedBuyout only, on an age schedule
Reliance Home ComfortServes the GTA, same prices across Ontario$31.99 to $47.99$2,500 to $4,000, installation not statedNot stated
GT Home ServicesBramptonFrom $25.99 to from $33.99$2,111 to $2,666, "fully installed"Not stated
Go LimeNorth York$19.95 sale price (regular $29.95)$2,195 sale price (regular $3,295), standard installationPay the remaining balance
Kent WaterMississaugaFrom $29.95 or $29.99, priced by termNot publishedNot stated; moving and deinstallation fees apply
Air Flex Heating & CoolingTorontoFrom $31.99Not publishedNot stated
ACfurnaceGTAVaughan (Concord), with Toronto and Mississauga locations$34.99Not publishedNot stated
Constant Home ComfortMarkhamNot published"typically" $1,500 to $2,500 "all-in"No rental
Culligan of Greater TorontoBramptonPromotion only: $0 for the first 3 monthsNot publishedNot stated
LG Home ComfortVaughanNot publishedGeneral estimates only; no softener-only price; $99 a month to own a combi-boiler, softener and RO bundle, installedNot stated
Premier PlumbingEast York, TorontoGeneral estimates onlyGeneral estimates onlyNot stated
Anta PlumbingTorontoNot publishedGeneral estimates onlyNot stated
Kinetico Quality Water of Greater TorontoBolton, CaledonNo softener-only rent published; $99 a month for a softener, chloramine filter and RO bundle, fixed 15 yearsNot publishedBuyout on a declining schedule, or transfer to your buyer, subject to approval
WaterMartThornhillNot publishedApproximate only: $1,500 to $3,500, "Quote-based"Not stated
Superior Water PurificationTorontoNot published (offers rentals)Not publishedNot stated
Cozy CastleNorth York, TorontoNot published$1,715 to $2,860 by model, "Price includes standard installation but excludes taxes"No rental published
Company websites read September 28, 2026

Only two of the seven renters say where tax stands. Enercare's rates are "plus HST", and Go Lime's cart says taxes are "calculated at checkout". Two pages also contradict themselves. Reliance's summary box says rents start at $29.99, but its model table starts at $31.99. GT's banner says "Purchase from $1,111", while every model card says $2,111. We use the model figures.

What renting costs

Published rents run from $19.95 to $47.99 a month. The $19.95 is Go Lime's sale price, shown beside a struck-out regular price of $29.95. Grain size (how much hardness the unit can remove before it cleans itself) and add-ons such as a dechlorinator (a filter that removes chlorine) drive the spread.

Monthly softener rents GTA companies publish, September 2026
ItemLowHighUnit
Enercare water softener 34k$30.67$30.67per month, plus HST (2026 rate)
Enercare water softener 44k$33.04$33.04per month, plus HST (2026 rate)
Enercare water softener 60k$34.37$34.37per month, plus HST (2026 rate)
Enercare softener with dechlorinator 32k$34.21$34.21per month, plus HST (2026 rate)
Enercare softener with dechlorinator 42k$35.38$35.38per month, plus HST (2026 rate)
Enercare softener with dechlorinator, 32k or 42k$24.38$24.38per month, plus HST, "combo rate" (qualifying terms not stated)
Reliance Value Series 30K$31.99$31.99per month, standard installation included
Reliance Performance 45K$33.99$33.99per month, standard installation included
Reliance High-Capacity 60K$36.99$36.99per month, standard installation included
Reliance High-Demand 90K$42.99$42.99per month, standard installation included
Reliance 30K with chlorine filter$42.99$42.99per month, standard installation included
Reliance 60K with chlorine filter$47.99$47.99per month, standard installation included
GT Home Services Chlor-A-Soft 30K$25.99$25.99per month, "from"
GT Home Services Chlor-A-Soft 45K$29.99$29.99per month, "from"
GT Home Services Chlor-A-Soft 60K$33.99$33.99per month, "from"
Go Lime Go Soft, Go Flex plan$19.95$19.95per month, sale price, 180-month plan
Kent City or Kent Eco softener$29.99$29.99per month on a 7-year term
Kent 4.0 High-Efficiency softener$29.95$29.95per month for 180 months, "from"
Air Flex Chlor-A-Soft softener$31.99$31.99per month, "from"
ACfurnaceGTA water softener$34.99$34.99per month

Kinetico's GTA dealer publishes no rent for a softener on its own. Its bundle adds a chloramine filter and a reverse osmosis (RO) drinking-water system for $99 a month, "Fixed for 15 years", with "No annual escalators". Kent prices by commitment. Its own term buttons show a one-year rental at about twice the 7-year monthly rate. GT's page also advertises a general rental plan "from $37.99/mo", so ask which rate a quote uses.

What buying costs

Six companies publish a purchase price, and the table carries each one's installation terms, and tax where stated. Cozy Castle in North York sells the same three Chlor-A-Soft sizes as GT for $2,215, $2,479 and $2,860, installed, plus tax. GT charges $2,111 to $2,666 "fully installed" and doesn't state a tax basis.

Purchase prices GTA companies publish, September 2026
ItemLowHighUnit
Constant Home Comfort mid-range softener$1,500$2,500"typically", installed, "all-in"
GT Home Services Chlor-A-Soft 30K$2,111$2,111fully installed
GT Home Services Chlor-A-Soft 45K$2,333$2,333fully installed
GT Home Services Chlor-A-Soft 60K$2,666$2,666fully installed
Go Lime Go Soft, buy outright$2,195$2,195sale price, standard installation only
Enercare water softener$2,414$2,920by model, installation included
Reliance Value Series 30K$2,500$2,500purchase, installation not stated
Reliance Performance 45K$2,600$2,600purchase, installation not stated
Reliance High-Capacity 60K$3,000$3,000purchase, installation not stated
Reliance High-Demand 90K$3,800$3,800purchase, installation not stated
Reliance 30K with chlorine filter$3,500$3,500purchase, installation not stated
Reliance 60K with chlorine filter$4,000$4,000purchase, installation not stated
Cozy Castle Excalibur Value Series 30,000 grain$1,715$1,715installed, plus tax
Cozy Castle Excalibur Chlor-A-Soft 30,000 grain$2,215$2,215installed, plus tax
Cozy Castle Excalibur Chlor-A-Soft 45,000 grain$2,479$2,479installed, plus tax
Cozy Castle Excalibur Chlor-A-Soft 60,000 grain$2,860$2,860installed, plus tax

A box-store unit costs less but comes without a plumber. Canadian Tire lists a Whirlpool 40,000-grain softener at $849.99 for pickup at its Agincourt store, with a kit "for a DIY installation" and a one-year repair warranty. Home Depot lists a 32,000-grain Aquasure at $1,128. Its installation service's Toronto page posts no price. Costco's EcoWater and Kinetico offers run through in-home consultations, with no posted price.

A selection of whole-house softeners on Home Depot Canada's first listing page, unit only
ItemLowHighUnit
Aquasure Harmony Series 32,000 grain$1,128$1,128product price, installation separate
iSpring 45,000 grain compact$1,161$1,161product price, installation separate
Aquasure Harmony Series 40,000 grain$1,168$1,168product price, installation separate
Rheem Preferred Platinum 42,000 grain$1,388$1,388product price, installation separate
Aquasure Harmony Series 48,000 grain$1,388$1,388product price, installation separate
Aquasure Harmony Series 64,000 grain$1,578$1,578product price, installation separate
PRO+AQUA 80,000 grain high-demand$2,170$2,170product price, installation separate

If you hire someone to connect it, Ontario treats plumbing as a compulsory trade. The province says you "cannot employ or otherwise engage someone to do compulsory trade work, unless they are authorized".

When buying beats renting

Divide a company's purchase price by its own monthly rent for the same system. The answer is how many months of rent it takes to pay for the unit outright. Few of these prices state a tax basis. If HST applies equally to the rent and the price, it cancels out of the division.

Months of rent that equal the purchase price, same company, list prices
CompanySystemRent a monthPurchase priceMonths to break evenYears
ReliancePerformance 45K$33.99$2,60076.56.4
GT Home ServicesChlor-A-Soft 45Kfrom $29.99$2,33377.86.5
RelianceValue Series 30K$31.99$2,50078.16.5
GT Home ServicesChlor-A-Soft 60Kfrom $33.99$2,66678.46.5
RelianceHigh-Capacity 60K$36.99$3,00081.16.8
GT Home ServicesChlor-A-Soft 30Kfrom $25.99$2,11181.26.8
Reliance30K with chlorine filter$42.99$3,50081.46.8
Reliance60K with chlorine filter$47.99$4,00083.46.9
RelianceHigh-Demand 90K$42.99$3,80088.47.4
Go LimeGo Soft (sale prices)$19.95$2,195110.09.2
EnercareFive models; page doesn't pair price and model$30.67 to $35.38$2,414 to $2,92068.2 to 95.25.7 to 7.9
Each company's own price page, read September 28, 2026; months = purchase price divided by monthly rent

Nine of the 10 paired rows cross between 6.4 and 7.4 years, and the median is 6.8. Reliance's purchase prices don't say they include installation, so its rows are the earliest case. Enercare doesn't say which price goes with which model, so its row covers every pairing.

Go Lime's plan works differently. Half of every payment reduces its purchase price, so part of the rent is buying the unit. Its regular prices give the same answer as its sale prices: $3,295 divided by $29.95 is also 110 months.

Three things move the line. Rent increases pull it earlier: Enercare's sample contract allows a rise each January 1 of up to inflation (CPI) plus 2%, and Go Lime caps its rises at 3.99% plus CPI. Repairs a warranty doesn't cover push it later, because an owner pays for them and a renter doesn't. Kent and Go Lime both cite 20-year manufacturer warranties on a purchase.

Discounts push it later too. With Reliance's $5 discount for existing rental or protection-plan customers, its 90K rents for $42.99 less $5, or $37.99, and $3,800 divided by $37.99 is 100 months (8.3 years). At Enercare's $24.38 combo rate, $2,414 divided by $24.38 is 99 months and $2,920 divided by $24.38 is 119.8 months, or 8.3 to 10 years. Enercare is also giving new customers a $500 prepaid card with select softener rentals until October 19, 2026. That's worth about 16 months of its cheapest regular rent ($500 divided by $30.67 is 16.3).

Ending a rental early usually means buying it

Only two of the seven renters say how you end a rental early.

What each renter publishes about the length and end of the rental
CompanyLength of rentalHow you end it earlyPrice increases
EnercareLife of the equipmentBuy it out at a share of its original installed cost, plus taxUp to CPI plus 2% each January 1
Go Lime180 monthsPay the remaining balance; half of every payment has already reduced itCapped at 3.99% plus CPI
Kent Water1 to 7 years, priced by term (Kent 4.0: 180 months)Not stated; moving and deinstallation fees applyNot stated
Reliance"Minimum rental term is only 7 to 10 years" (company-wide, not softener-specific)Not statedNot stated
GT Home ServicesNot stated (rental covers 12 years of parts and labour)Not statedNot stated
Air FlexNot statedNot statedNot stated
ACfurnaceGTANot statedNot statedNot stated
Company pages and Enercare's sample rental agreement, read September 28, 2026

Enercare's sample agreement is blunt: "Your sole method of terminating this Agreement prior to the end of the useful life of the Equipment is to purchase the Equipment." Its buyout falls from 100% of the original installed cost in year one to 76% at five years old, 44% at ten and 7% at fifteen or older.

Here is what that means over five years, at today's rate with no increases. Assume the unit's installed cost matches the low end of Enercare's buying range, $2,414 (your contract states the real figure). Five years of its 34k rent is 60 x $30.67 = $1,840.20. Leaving then costs 76% x $2,414 = $1,834.64. That's $1,840.20 + $1,834.64 = $3,674.84, before HST, for a unit you could have bought for $2,414.

Moving doesn't end a rental either. Enercare lets your buyer take over the agreement on conditions, including telling them in the agreement of purchase and sale. Go Lime's plan transfers with 30 days' notice. Kent charges moving and deinstallation fees.

Your rights when the contract is signed at home

Softeners are on Ontario's restricted list. Since March 1, 2018, a company can't sell or rent you one at your home unless you asked it to come for that purpose (Consumer Protection Act, 2002, s. 43.1; O. Reg. 17/05, s. 35.1). You can ask by phone, mail or email, at its store or at a trade show. Replying to its flyer or email counts, if your reply asks it to come to sign you up. The exception is a flyer left at your home that makes a false or misleading claim: Ontario treats leaving it as a door-to-door pitch, so a contract you sign because of it is void (O. Reg. 17/05, s. 35.3). Replying to a salesperson at your door, or on a call the company made, doesn't. Booking a repair, maintenance, an energy assessment or any other visit that isn't to sign a contract, such as a free water test, doesn't count, unless you're already a customer and agree to a pitch while booking (see below).

Existing customers are the exception. Say you already have a written contract with the company for one of the products on that list (furnaces, air conditioners, air cleaners and purifiers, water heaters, water treatment devices, water purifiers, filters and softeners, duct cleaning, or anything that combines or performs their functions), such as a rental water heater. Then either of you can make first contact, but the company can't do it at your door. If you invite it over, and it asks during that call or message whether it may pitch you and you agree, it can sign you up at home. That includes a visit you booked for a repair (O. Reg. 17/05, s. 35.1(2)(c) and (4)). Outside those cases, a contract signed after an uninvited pitch is void. You can keep the softener without paying, the company must repay any charges another firm bills you because of the deal, such as your old rental company's fee for removing its equipment, and you can demand back what you paid it within a year of paying (CPA ss. 13(6), 43.1(5) and (6)).

A contract you invited is a "direct agreement", meaning one made in person away from the seller's business. A deal signed at a trade show, fair, exhibition, auction or market doesn't count. For a direct agreement over $50, you can cancel for any reason within 10 days after you receive your written copy (s. 43(1)). You get a year from signing if that copy doesn't meet the legal requirements (s. 43(2)). Cancel in writing, by a method that proves the date.

One catch: if you asked the company to come and sign you up, asked for installation within 10 days of signing, and then cancel, the company can claim reasonable compensation. Ontario's list includes rent for that time, removal costs and excessive wear.

The same rules put your break-even on page one. A softener lease signed at home must state "a reasonable estimate of the retail price". It must also state the total you'd pay "based on an average useful life", in 12-point type (O. Reg. 8/18, s. 1). And it must list every charge for ending the contract. Divide the first figure by your monthly rent before you sign.

No lien on your title

Until June 6, 2024, companies could register a notice of security interest, a notice on your land title that they own equipment in your house. The Homeowner Protection Act, 2024 banned these for consumer goods and deemed existing ones expired, so "the land is not affected". Enercare's June 2023 sample agreement still lets it register against title. But the province's cover page, which must be attached to these contracts, now says the supplier "is prohibited" from doing so. The ban doesn't cancel the contract.

Ontario passed a new Consumer Protection Act in 2023, but e-Laws still marks it "NOT YET IN FORCE". The 2002 Act is the one that applies.

Salt and running costs, worked out for GTA water

Salt costs extra whichever way you go, unless a rental says otherwise. None of the rental pages we read says salt is included, and Enercare's agreement excludes "consumables, such as softener salt" and makes topping it up the renter's job.

Here is the arithmetic for a Toronto household of three. Toronto's water averaged 119 mg/L of hardness in 2025, meaning 119 milligrams of calcium and magnesium (measured as calcium carbonate) in each litre. Halton Region's conversion (mg/L x 0.07016) makes that 8.35 grains per imperial gallon. That's about 7.0 grains per US gallon, the unit most softener charts use, at Health Canada's 17.1 mg/L per grain. In 2020, the City says, a three-person household used 230 cubic metres. Its rate table equates 5,000 cubic metres with 1,099,850 gallons. So the household uses about 50,600 gallons, and 50,600 x 8.35 is about 422,000 grains of hardness a year.

The manual for Whirlpool's 40,000-grain softener supplies the salt side. At its most efficient setting it removes 4,958 grains per pound of salt. At its largest dose, 40,000 grains take 15.5 pounds, about 2,581 grains a pound. That puts the household at 85 to 164 pounds of salt a year, or 39 to 74 kg. That's about 2 to 4 bags of 20 kg.

Puretap in Mississauga sells a 20 kg bag from $11.75 at pickup, so 2 x $11.75 = $23.50 to 4 x $11.75 = $47.00 a year. Delivered in the GTA, it's up to $15.00 a bag. The same household on Milton's municipal well-based supply, which Halton reports at 318 mg/L, would need about 5 to 10 bags: 5 x $11.75 = $58.75 to 10 x $11.75 = $117.50.

Treat those as floors. The manual warns that real-world efficiency is "typically less than the rated efficiency". Puretap says a typical GTA household on municipal water goes through a bag every four to eight weeks. That's 6.5 to 13 bags a year: 6.5 x $11.75 = $76.38 to 13 x $11.75 = $152.75. Premier Plumbing's Toronto page estimates one to two bags a month. Ask what salt use a quote assumes. Electricity is minor: Enercare says its 12-volt units use "less than $3/year".

Before you pay for either option, look up your own utility's hardness figure for your street.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a water softener cost in Ontario?

GTA companies publish purchase prices from $1,500 (the low end of Constant Home Comfort's "typically" range, installed) to $4,000 (Reliance's 60K with a chlorine filter, installation not stated). Canadian Tire lists a 40,000-grain unit for $849.99 at pickup, before a plumber.

How much does a water softener cost per month?

Published GTA rents for a softener on its own run from $19.95 (Go Lime's sale price) to $47.99 (Reliance's 60K softener with a chlorine filter). Only Enercare and Go Lime say whether tax is included.

Is it cheaper to rent or buy a water softener?

At list prices, buying wins if you keep it past about seven years. Nine of the 10 same-company pairs we found break even in 6.4 to 7.4 years. Renting can still suit you if you'd rather not carry repair risk.

Do I need a plumber to install a water softener?

Canadian Tire sells a Whirlpool unit with a DIY installation kit. If you hire someone, plumbing is a compulsory trade, so the person must be authorized. Toronto's permit page requires a permit to "install or modify" plumbing systems and names softeners on neither list, so ask Toronto Building before you change piping.

How long does a 40 lb bag of water softener salt last?

GTA bags are usually 20 kg, about 44 lb. At the Whirlpool manual's rated efficiency, a Toronto household of three would use 2 to 4 bags a year, so a bag could last 3 to 6 months. A household on Milton's municipal well-based supply would need closer to 5 to 10 bags. Puretap says a typical GTA household goes through one every four to eight weeks.

How much does a 40lb bag of water softener salt cost?

Puretap in Mississauga charges from $11.75 for a 20 kg bag at pickup and up to $15.00 delivered in the GTA. A pallet of 56 bags is $644.00 collected, about $11.50 a bag (644 divided by 56); delivery adds $125.

What is the downside of a water softener?

Salt, and sodium in your tap water. Health Canada says softening 100 mg/L of hardness adds 46 mg/L of sodium. It recommends leaving the kitchen tap unsoftened, and says children under 8 generally shouldn't drink softened water.

What does Enercare charge for a water softener?

Enercare rents five softener models for $30.67 to $35.38 a month plus HST in 2026, and says buying "can cost between $2,414 and $2,920". Under its published sample agreement, a rental can only be ended early by buying the unit out.

Can I cancel a water softener rental signed at my door?

If the seller knocked on your door uninvited, the contract is void and you can keep the unit without paying. If you invited them for that purpose, you have 10 days after receiving your written copy, or a year if the copy is missing required information.

Sources (53)

  1. Consumer Protection Act, 2002, S.O. 2002, c. 30, Sched. A (ss. 41-43, 43.1, 86-90) · Government of Ontario (e-Laws) (retrieved )
  2. O. Reg. 17/05: General (Consumer Protection Act, 2002) · Government of Ontario (e-Laws) (retrieved )
  3. O. Reg. 8/18: Requirements for Direct Agreements Subject to Section 43.1 of Act · Government of Ontario (e-Laws) (retrieved )
  4. Personal Property Security Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.10 (s. 54) · Government of Ontario (e-Laws) (retrieved )
  5. Consumer Protection Act, 2023, S.O. 2023, c. 23, Sched. 1 (not yet in force) · Government of Ontario (e-Laws) (retrieved )
  6. Door-to-door sales and home service contracts · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  7. Rules for businesses entering into contracts at a consumer's home · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  8. Important: What You Need to Know About Your Legal Rights (mandatory cover page, July 19, 2024) · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  9. Notices of Security Interest · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  10. Compulsory trades and enforcement · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
  11. Tap Water in Toronto (water hardness) · City of Toronto (retrieved )
  12. Drinking Water Analysis Summary 2025 · City of Toronto (retrieved )
  13. MyWaterToronto (average household water use) · City of Toronto (retrieved )
  14. Water Rates & Fees (2026 metric and gallon rates) · City of Toronto (retrieved )
  15. When Do I Need a Building Permit? · City of Toronto (retrieved )
  16. Halton Region Distribution Water System 2025 Analytical Averages · Halton Region (retrieved )
  17. Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality: Operational Parameters (hardness), Appendix E · Health Canada (retrieved )
  18. Water Softener System Rentals for Ontario Homes · Enercare (retrieved )
  19. Enercare Advantage Water Softener, Water Filtration and Reverse Osmosis (2026 rental rates, buyout schedule) · Enercare (retrieved )
  20. Residential Water Treatment System Rental Agreement (sample, EC.510.FOR JUN/23) · Enercare (retrieved )
  21. Water Softener Cost in Canada (2026): A Complete Residential Pricing Guide · Reliance Home Comfort (retrieved )
  22. Water Softener Rent or Buy · Reliance Home Comfort (retrieved )
  23. Go Soft Whole Home Water Softener · Go Lime (retrieved )
  24. Why Go Flex? · Go Lime (retrieved )
  25. Water Softener Installation Brampton & GTA · GT Home Services (retrieved )
  26. Water Softener Rentals for Your Home · Kent Water Purification Systems (retrieved )
  27. Kent 4.0 High-Efficiency Water Softener · Kent Water Purification Systems (retrieved )
  28. Water Treatment · Air Flex Heating & Cooling (retrieved )
  29. Water Treatment Systems Installation in Toronto and the GTA · ACfurnaceGTA (retrieved )
  30. Water Softener: Rent vs Buy in Ontario · Constant Home Comfort (retrieved )
  31. Water Treatment Services & Solutions In Greater Toronto, ON · Culligan of Greater Toronto (retrieved )
  32. Water Softeners · Kinetico Quality Water of Greater Toronto (retrieved )
  33. Kinetico Water Softeners for Costco Members · Kinetico Quality Water of Greater Toronto (retrieved )
  34. Whole Home Water Softeners Toronto & GTA · WaterMart (retrieved )
  35. Water Softener Installation, Repair & Replacement Services · Superior Water Purification (retrieved )
  36. Water Softener: Services From Reputable Dealer in Toronto · Cozy Castle (retrieved )
  37. How Much Does a Water Softener Cost in Ontario? (2026 Guide) · LG Home Comfort (retrieved )
  38. Water Softener System Cost in Toronto (2026) · Premier Plumbing (retrieved )
  39. Water Softener Installation & Repair In Toronto · Anta Plumbing (retrieved )
  40. Water Treatment & Water Softener Installation in Toronto · The Home Depot Canada (retrieved )
  41. Water Softeners (category listing) · The Home Depot Canada (retrieved )
  42. Whirlpool WHES40 40,000-Grain Water Softener · Canadian Tire (retrieved )
  43. Whirlpool WHES40/WHES44 Installation and Operating Manual · Whirlpool (via Canadian Tire) (retrieved )
  44. Ecowater Water Treatment System · Costco Wholesale Canada (retrieved )
  45. Solar Salt Water Softener Salt 20 KG Bag · Puretap (retrieved )
  46. Excalibur (shop category: water softeners and filters) · Cozy Castle (retrieved )
  47. Excalibur Value Series Water Softener 30,000 Grains · Cozy Castle (retrieved )
  48. Excalibur Chlor-A-Soft Series Water Softener 30,000 Grains · Cozy Castle (retrieved )
  49. Excalibur Chlor-A-Soft Series Water Softener 45,000 Grains · Cozy Castle (retrieved )
  50. Excalibur Chlor-A-Soft Series Water Softener 60,000 Grains · Cozy Castle (retrieved )
  51. Kinetico Comfort · Kinetico Quality Water of Greater Toronto (retrieved )
  52. Best Water Softener Systems in 2026 · WaterMart (retrieved )
  53. Be In The Know: Understanding Your Home Comfort Equipment Options · Reliance Home Comfort (retrieved )

How this guide was made

Read on September 28, 2026: the websites and product pages of 16 GTA softener dealers, rental companies and plumbers, softener pages at Home Depot, Canadian Tire and Costco, Enercare's published rental agreement, the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 with O. Reg. 17/05 and O. Reg. 8/18, the Personal Property Security Act, and City of Toronto, Halton Region and Health Canada water data. Break-even and salt figures are our own arithmetic on those pages.

David BrownDB

Written by

David Brown

Editor & main author

David Brown is the editor of GTA Guide. He writes about the practical side of living in the Greater Toronto Area: what things cost, who to call, and what is worth your weekend. More about David Brown

Also worth reading

More in What it costs in Ontario

All What it costs in Ontario →