Key takeaways
- Across the ten GTA companies that do not limit a bedroom price to its walls, or do not say what it covers, the median low end is $400 and the median high end is $750. All ten rows are in the table.
- Six GTA companies price a bedroom's walls on their own, from $320 to $500. The median of their six low ends is $425 and the median of their six high ends is $450.
- Only 4 of the 14 GTA companies publishing an interior per-square-foot rate say what the square feet are. Encore Painting shows why: $2.50 per square foot of floor area on a 1,500 sq ft home is about $3,750, and the same $2.50 on wall area could be $10,000 or more.
- Fourteen of the 23 pages never say whether HST is in the price. Ontario's rate is 13%, so an $8,000 quote is $9,040 paid.
- Under the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 a supplier cannot charge you more than 10 per cent above an estimate that is part of your agreement, and if they do you can require the estimated price.
One bedroom is the unit most GTA painters actually price, and the published range for one is $400 to $750. Those are the median low end and the median high end across the ten companies below that do not limit a bedroom price to its walls, or do not say what it covers. Six other companies price the walls on their own, and those run $320 to $500. We read the price page of 23 GTA painting companies on September 7, 2026. Every figure here carries the room size, scope and tax wording its own page attaches to it. Where two quotes differ is scope and the square-foot basis, and both are set out below.
What one bedroom costs
Six companies publish a price for painting a bedroom's walls and nothing else. Ceilings are extra on all six, and trim and doors are separate line items on five of them.
| Item | Low | High | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| CertaPro Painters of Etobicoke | $320 | $320 | standard bedroom 11 ft x 12 ft, walls, setup not included, HST excluded |
| CertaPro Painters of East York and Don Mills | $400 | $400 | standard bedroom 12 ft x 12 ft, walls, 8 ft ceilings |
| Soca Services Painting | $400 | $500 | standard bedroom, prep and two coats on the walls, ceilings and trim priced separately, HST not included |
| CAM Painters | $450 | $450 | small room 10 ft x 12 ft, 350 sq ft of wall, labour and paint, list headed excluding prep, dated September 26, 2016 |
| Ecopainting | $450 | $450 | room 10 ft by 14 ft, 384 sq ft of paintable wall, two coats, paint included |
| TD Painters | $450 | $450 | from, single room about 12 ft x 12 ft, walls, two coats, basic prep, HST extra |
Sorted by their low end, those six are $320, $400, $400, $450, $450 and $450. The middle two are $400 and $450, so the median low end is $425 ($400 + $450 = $850, divided by 2). The median high end is $450. Note the CAM Painters row: that price list carries its own date of September 26, 2016, and its figure still matches what two companies charge today.
The other ten price a bedroom that covers more than its walls, or do not say what it covers.
| Item | Low | High | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| DC Painting and Services | $300 | $700 | single room, bedroom, living or dining, scope not stated |
| HM247 Service | $300 | $800 | average sized room about 10 ft x 12 ft, scope not stated |
| Home Painters Pro | $300 | $600 | bedroom 10 ft x 12 ft to 12 ft x 14 ft, 8 ft ceilings, plus HST; its FAQ prices the same room $300 to $800 |
| House Painters GTA | $350 | $850 | typical 12 ft x 12 ft bedroom in Markham, two coats on walls, minor patching and basic trim work |
| Absolute Home Services | $400 | $500 | smaller bedroom, plus HST, published as an estimate |
| Sky Painting | $400 | $700 | single bedroom, moves on room size, ceiling height and surface condition |
| Toronto Painters | $400 | $900 | single bedroom, typical GTA figure, not a fixed quote |
| Encore Painting | $450 | $800 | standard bedroom, walls, ceiling, trim, two coats, before HST |
| Odd Job Handyman Services | $450 | $800 | small bedroom or office 10 ft x 12 ft, labour and materials |
| Prestige Painting | $500 | $700 | small bedroom, and the page states these are not its prices |
Take the ten low ends and the ten high ends separately. The median low is $400 and the median high is $750 ($700 + $800 = $1,500, divided by 2). Three of the ten say what the price covers. Encore Painting lists walls, ceiling, trim and two coats. House Painters GTA covers two coats on walls, minor patching and basic trim work on a Markham bedroom. Home Painters Pro lists labour, premium paint, two coats on walls, ceiling and trim, though it attaches that scope to its FAQ figure rather than the table row published here. The other seven leave you to ask.
Home Painters Pro publishes two prices for the same room. Its price table puts a bedroom of 10 ft by 12 ft to 12 ft by 14 ft at $300 to $600. Its FAQ puts a standard bedroom of exactly those dimensions at $300 to $800. The table row is the one in our set, because it is the line item that names the room. Taking the FAQ figure instead would lift the median high end from $750 to $800.
The square-foot question worth thousands
Fourteen of the 23 companies publish an interior rate per square foot. Four of those fourteen say what the square feet are. That sounds like a small omission. It is not.
Encore Painting sets it out on its own page. A quote of $2.50 per square foot of floor area on a 1,500 sq ft home is about $3,750. The same $2.50 per square foot of wall area on that same home "could be $10,000 or more". Floor area is the number on your listing. Paintable wall area is the surface being coated, and on an eight-foot ceiling it runs roughly 2.5 to 3.5 times the floor area.
Here is what those four say. Encore Painting quotes $2.50 to $4.50 per square foot of floor area. DC Painting and Services quotes $1.80 to $3.00 per square foot of floor area. Home Painters Pro quotes $1.80 to $3.00 per square foot of wall area. Odd Job Handyman Services puts Toronto at $3 to $6 per square foot of wall surface.
Look at the middle two. Home Painters Pro and DC Painting and Services publish the identical band, $1.80 to $3.00. One measures it on wall area, the other on floor area. On the same 1,500 sq ft home those two identical bands are not remotely the same bill.
Two more can be pinned down from their own arithmetic. Condo Painters Pro prices walls only at $2.00 to $3.00 per sq. ft., and separately prices trim and mouldings at $1.00 per sq. ft., a flat ceiling at $1.25 per sq. ft. and a popcorn ceiling at $1.75 per sq. ft. Its size table then puts a 1,200 sq ft condo at $2,400 to $2,600 in Benjamin Moore Ultra-Spec. Multiply 1,200 by $2.00 and you get $2,400, so the rate runs on floor area. Mi Painting and Wallpaper passes the same test. It starts at $1.50 per square foot for walls only, and prices a 2,000 sq ft home at around $3,000 plus paint. Multiply 2,000 by $1.50 and you get $3,000, so floor area again. Naming the surface you paint is not the same as naming the area you measure. That leaves eight of the fourteen where the page cannot tell you either way.
Ask one question on the walkthrough. Is your rate measured on my floor area or on the paintable surface, and what is the surface number for my home? A painter who has measured answers with a figure.
A whole interior, and the walls-only gap
Two companies publish walls-only and everything-included prices for the same house, side by side. That is the clearest picture in the study of what scope is worth.
| Item | Low | High | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Odd Job Handyman Services, walls only | $3,500 | $6,000 | 1,500 sq ft home, published as an estimate |
| Odd Job Handyman Services, walls, trim and ceilings | $5,000 | $9,000 | 1,500 sq ft home, published as an estimate |
| Soca Services Painting, walls only | $4,000 | $6,000 | 1,500 to 2,000 sq ft home, plus HST |
| Soca Services Painting, walls, trim and ceilings | $6,000 | $9,000 | 1,500 to 2,000 sq ft home, plus HST |
| Sky Painting | $4,500 | $9,000 | whole-house interior, 1,500 sq ft, room count, ceiling height and prep |
| House Painters GTA | $4,500 | $6,000 | 1,500 sq ft house |
| Home Painters Pro | $5,000 | $12,000 | standard two-storey detached, 1,500 to 2,000 sq ft, plus HST |
| Ecopainting | $4,000 | $4,500 | 2,000 sq ft two-storey home, walls only, mid grade paint |
Adding trim and ceilings costs $1,500 at the low end and $3,000 at the high end on Odd Job's own table ($5,000 minus $3,500, and $9,000 minus $6,000). On Soca's it costs $2,000 and $3,000. So a quote that looks $2,000 cheap may simply be leaving the ceilings white and the baseboards alone.
Ecopainting shows the same thing as a running total. Its walls-only price for a 2,000 sq ft home is about $4,000 to $4,500. Adding non-textured ceilings takes it "over $5,000". Adding doors, baseboards and window frames takes it "over $6,500".
Exteriors
Exterior prices turn on the surface being coated and how hard it is to reach. The five pages below describe the same kind of house in three different ways.
| Item | Low | High | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Deck People | $6,000 | $11,000 | mid-size detached, 1,500 to 2,500 sq ft of paintable surface, published as an estimate |
| Soca Services Painting | $6,500 | $9,500 | large two-storey, 2,500 sq ft, and up, plus HST, published as an estimate |
| Sky Painting | $7,500 | $15,000 | detached two-storey, plus garage, porches and square footage |
| Home Painters Pro | $8,500 | $15,000 | standard two-storey detached, 3,000 to 4,500 sq ft paintable, plus HST |
| Encore Painting | $9,000 | $16,000 | two-storey detached, before HST, published as a Toronto market range |
Three of the five name the basis. The Deck People is the most explicit, at $3.50 to $6.50 per square foot of "paintable surface area (not floor area)". Encore Painting names it too, quoting exteriors at $3.00 to $6.00 per square foot of surface area. Home Painters Pro does it with columns, printing a footprint and a paintable surface for every house type. Its bungalow of 800 to 1,200 sq ft carries 1,500 to 2,500 sq ft of paintable surface.
The Deck People also shows its working. It starts with 2,000 sq ft of wall at $4.00 per sq ft, which is $8,000. It then adds 15 per cent for scraping, $600 for a paint upgrade and $1,000 for scaffolding, and lands at $10,800.
What the headline price does not include
The exclusions are where two quotes stop being comparable. These are the ones the pages state.
| Company | Whose price the page says it is | Names the area its interior square-foot rate measures | Says whether HST is in it | A condition the page attaches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Absolute Home Services | market estimate | no | yes, plus HST | doors, trim, ceilings, closets and special features add $75 to $1,300 plus HST per element |
| CAM Painters | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | no | its list is headed excluding prep; 10 ft ceilings add 25 per cent to wall and ceiling prices; minimal prep is $45.00 per room |
| CertaPro Painters of East York and Don Mills | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | no | all wall prices assume 8 ft ceilings; 10 ft adds 25 per cent, 12 ft adds 50 per cent, 15 ft adds 75 per cent |
| CertaPro Painters of Etobicoke | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | yes, prices exclude HST | setup and floor protection are not in the price; standard setup is 1 hour per room |
| Coda Painting | its own price | no | yes, plus HST | the page calls its prices an illustration assuming standard prep and easy access |
| Condo Painters Pro | its own price | no, but its own size table resolves it to floor area | no | primer adds 25 per cent of the wall painting cost; price changes with the Benjamin Moore line chosen |
| DC Painting and Services | its own price | yes, floor area | no, it tells you to check | 9 ft to 10 ft ceilings add 10 to 20 per cent; vaulted adds 30 to 50 per cent |
| Ecopainting | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | no | its room price is for a 10 ft by 14 ft room; add 20 per cent for 10 ft ceilings and 30 per cent for 12 ft; paint is 15 to 25 per cent of the contract |
| Encore Painting | its own price | yes, floor area | yes, before HST | it quotes rooms itself but labels its at-a-glance project table Toronto market ranges; homes built before 1960 run 15 to 30 per cent more |
| HM247 Service | market estimate | no | no | touch-up repairs run $100 to $300 rather than a full room |
| Home Painters Pro | its own price | yes, wall area | yes, plus HST | its table and its FAQ give different bedroom prices; vaulted ceilings add 30 to 50 per cent; bundling rooms saves 15 to 25 per cent |
| Home Painters Toronto | its own price | no | yes, plus HST | its interior painting starts at $1,495 plus HST |
| House Painters GTA | market estimate | no | no | its bedroom price covers two coats on walls, minor patching and basic trim; walls only is $1.00 to $2.00 per sq ft, and ceilings and trim take it to $3.00 to $6.00 |
| Mi Painting and Wallpaper | its own price | no, but its own worked example resolves it to floor area | no | its rate is walls only; a mid-grade paint upgrade on a 10-gallon job adds about $280 plus tax |
| Mississauga Painters | market estimate | no | no | its rate covers walls, with a different rate for doors and trims |
| Odd Job Handyman Services | market estimate | yes, wall surface | no | there is a $75 minimum charge |
| Prestige Painting | not its own prices | no | yes, plus HST | the page states the figures are average estimates from industry research |
| Pro Paint Toronto | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | no | prices are starting points by tier, from $499 for a basic interior refresh |
| Sky Painting | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | no | no travel charge in Toronto or the inner GTA; $50 to Aurora, Newmarket, King City and Stouffville and $60 to Milton, waived over $3,000; $100 to Oshawa, waived over $5,000 |
| Soca Services Painting | market estimate | no | yes, HST not included | its room prices are prep plus two coats on the walls; ceilings are $200 to $400 per room and trim and doors $300 to $600 per room on top |
| TD Painters | its own price | no interior rate per square foot | yes, prices exclude HST | the $1,500 condo tier covers walls, trim, baseboard and doors, with ceilings extra |
| The Deck People | market estimate | no interior rate per square foot | no | its exterior rate is per square foot of paintable surface area, not floor area; premium detail and repairs move the figure |
| Toronto Painters | market estimate | no interior rate per square foot | no | trim, doors and baseboards are often priced separately, per item or per foot |
Ceiling height is the most common surcharge, and the multipliers are steep. CertaPro Painters of East York and Don Mills adds 25 per cent for 10 ft ceilings. It adds 50 per cent for 12 ft and 75 per cent for 15 ft. CAM Painters uses the same 25 per cent step for 10 ft. Ecopainting adds 20 per cent for 10 ft and 30 per cent for 12 ft. If your main floor is not eight feet, say so before you take a per-room price seriously.
Fourteen of 23 never mention the tax
Nine of the 23 pages say beside the price whether HST is in it. Fourteen do not. The rate in Ontario is 13%, per the Canada Revenue Agency. Encore Painting does the sum for you: an $8,000 job is $9,040 out the door ($8,000 x 1.13 = $9,040).
That silence matters most when you are comparing. Soca Services Painting's walls-only figure for a 1,500 to 2,000 sq ft home starts at $4,000, and its page says HST is not included. So the real number is $4,520 ($4,000 x 1.13). Odd Job Handyman Services starts at $3,500 for the same job and says nothing about tax, so it is either $3,500 or $3,955 ($3,500 x 1.13). One page tells you and one does not.
DC Painting and Services is the interesting case. Its page tells you to check that "HST is included or clearly excluded" when you compare quotes, and never says which its own figures are.
Whose price are you reading?
We applied one test to all 23 pages: does the page attach the figure to its own work, or present it as a typical market figure? Fourteen attach it. Eight present it as an estimate of what painting costs generally. One does neither.
Prestige Painting publishes a full table of GTA painting prices by home size, then prints this: "The prices mentioned here are average estimates based on industry research. These are not our prices." That is the most honest sentence in the study set. It is also a warning about the other eight, which say something similar in softer words. Toronto Painters calls its numbers "typical GTA figures, not fixed quotes". Odd Job Handyman Services writes "these are just estimates".
None of that makes the numbers useless. It means a market estimate is a budget, and only a written quote is a price.
What Ontario law gives you
Two rules are worth knowing before you sign anything.
First, the estimate holds. Under section 10 (1) of the Consumer Protection Act, 2002, if a consumer agreement includes an estimate, "the supplier shall not charge the consumer an amount that exceeds the estimate by more than 10 per cent". Section 10 (2) adds the remedy: if they do, you "may require that the supplier provide the goods or services at the estimated price". The Act was current to the e-Laws currency date of September 2, 2026, consolidated from December 11, 2025. The replacement Consumer Protection Act, 2023 is not yet in force.
Second, a contract signed at your kitchen table is a direct agreement. Section 20 (1) defines that as an agreement negotiated or concluded in person at a place other than "(a) at the supplier's place of business, or (b) at a market place, an auction, trade fair, agricultural fair or exhibition". Clause (b) matters. A painting contract you sign at a GTA home show is not a direct agreement, and it carries no 10-day right at all. Over $50, the threshold set by section 41 (1) of the Act and section 34 of O. Reg. 17/05, a direct agreement must be in writing and given to you (section 42 (1)). You can then cancel it for any reason "at any time from the date of entering into the agreement until 10 days after the consumer has received the written copy of the agreement" (section 43 (1)).
So the quote a painter hands you at your kitchen table carries a 10-day right to change your mind. It also carries a ceiling of 10 per cent over the estimate. The same contract signed at a home show carries the ceiling but not the 10 days.
Three questions before you compare two quotes
Ask each painter: are ceilings, trim and doors in this number or extra? Is HST in it? And if the quote is per square foot, is that my floor area or the paintable surface? On the study set, those three answers move a 1,500 sq ft job by thousands of dollars.
Frequently asked questions
How much do painters charge to paint a full house?
Across the GTA companies here, a full interior of a 1,500 sq ft home runs $3,500 to $12,000 depending on scope. Walls only is the low end, at $3,500 to $6,000 from Odd Job Handyman Services and $4,000 to $6,000 from Soca Services Painting. Walls, trim and ceilings takes both to $5,000 or $6,000 at the low end and $9,000 at the high end.
How much does it cost to paint a 1500 sq ft house?
Sky Painting publishes $4,500 to $9,000 for a whole-house interior at 1,500 sq ft. House Painters GTA publishes $4,500 to $6,000. Home Painters Pro publishes $5,000 to $12,000 plus HST for a standard two-storey detached of 1,500 to 2,000 sq ft. The spread is scope and prep, not disagreement about labour.
How much to paint a 2000 square foot house?
Encore Painting puts a 2,000 sq ft Toronto home at roughly $7,000 to $14,000 for a full interior repaint, before HST, as a Toronto market range rather than its own quote. Ecopainting prices the same size at about $4,000 to $4,500 for walls only, rising over $5,000 with ceilings and over $6,500 with doors, baseboards and window frames.
How much should it cost to paint the exterior of a 2000 square foot house?
Encore Painting publishes $9,000 to $16,000 for a full exterior on a 2,000 sq ft home, before HST, as a Toronto market range rather than its own quote. Prestige Painting's table shows $5,000 to $11,000 at that size, under its own note that these are not its prices. Exterior figures move on surface area and access, not floor plan.
What is house painting cost per square foot in Toronto?
Published interior rates run from $1.50 to $12 per square foot across these pages, which is a useless range until you know the basis. On floor area, Encore Painting is $2.50 to $4.50 and DC Painting and Services is $1.80 to $3.00. On wall area, Home Painters Pro is $1.80 to $3.00 and Odd Job Handyman Services is $3 to $6.
Is HST included in a painting quote in Ontario?
Usually not, and most pages do not say. Only nine of these 23 state it beside the price. Ontario's rate is 13%, so an $8,000 quote is $9,040 paid, which is Encore Painting's own worked example.
Can a painter charge more than the estimate?
Not by much. If your agreement includes an estimate, section 10 (1) of the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 bars the supplier from charging more than 10 per cent above it. If they do, section 10 (2) lets you require the estimated price. A change you agreed to in advance is a different matter.
Sources (26)
- Cost of Painting a House in Toronto · Absolute Home Services (retrieved )
- Interior Painting: How Much Will it Cost for My Toronto Home? · CAM Painters (retrieved )
- Interior House Painting Pricing Guide · CertaPro Painters of East York and Don Mills (retrieved )
- Toronto Interior Painting Pricing Guide · CertaPro Painters of Etobicoke (retrieved )
- How Much Does Painting Cost in Toronto and GTA · Coda Painting (retrieved )
- How Much Does It Cost to Paint a Condo in Toronto? · Condo Painters Pro (retrieved )
- How Much Does Painting Cost in Toronto? (2026 Price Guide) · DC Painting and Services (retrieved )
- Cost of Painting a House Interior, a Comprehensive Guide · Ecopainting (retrieved )
- House Painting Cost in Toronto 2026: Real Prices With HST · Encore Painting (retrieved )
- Painting Cost in Toronto: 2026 Pricing Guide · HM247 Service (retrieved )
- Cost to Paint a House in Toronto 2026: Every Service, Every Price · Home Painters Pro (retrieved )
- Interior Residential Painting Services in Toronto and GTA · Home Painters Toronto (retrieved )
- How much does it cost for painting interior of house in Markham · House Painters GTA (retrieved )
- How Much Does It Cost to Paint a House in Toronto · Mi Painting and Wallpaper (retrieved )
- Cost of Interior Painting in Mississauga · Mississauga Painters (retrieved )
- Interior Painting Cost in Toronto: Per Sq Ft, By Room and Home Size · Odd Job Handyman Services (retrieved )
- How Much Does it Cost to Paint a House in Toronto? · Prestige Painting (retrieved )
- Professional Painters Toronto, Pro Paint Services · Pro Paint Toronto (retrieved )
- Painting Prices and Cost Guide, Toronto and GTA · Sky Painting (retrieved )
- Best House Painting Cost Toronto Guide: 2025 Prices in the GTA · Soca Services Painting (retrieved )
- Painting Services Pricing, GTA and Surrounding · TD Painters (retrieved )
- How Much Does Exterior Painting Cost in 2026? · The Deck People (retrieved )
- How Much Does It Cost to Paint a House Interior in Toronto? · Toronto Painters (retrieved )
- Consumer Protection Act, 2002, S.O. 2002, c. 30, Sched. A · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
- O. Reg. 17/05: General, under the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 · Government of Ontario (retrieved )
- Charge and collect the tax: which rate to charge · Canada Revenue Agency (retrieved )
How this guide was made
Checked on September 7, 2026: the price page of 23 GTA painting companies, every figure copied with the room size, scope, ceiling height and tax wording its own page attaches to it, one line item per row. Each page was then classified by one test, whether it presents the figure as the company's own price or as a market estimate, and by whether it names the area a per-square-foot rate is measured on. Raw HTML was re-fetched and searched for struck-out prices on the six pages carrying a promotion or a discrete price list. The consumer law comes from the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 and O. Reg. 17/05 read through the e-Laws API, and the tax rate from the Canada Revenue Agency, never from a contractor's marketing copy.









